31ST DISTRICT
HAROLD F. MOWERY, JR.

SENATE BOX 203031
MAIN CAPITOL BUILDING
HARRISBURG, PA 17120-3031
(717) 787-8524
FAX: (717) 772-0576
EMAIL: http://doi.org/10.1001/10.100

1023 MUMMA ROAD
LEMOYNE, PA 17043
717-763-7623
1-800-734-5287
DISTRICT OFFICE:
POST OFFICE BOX 329
NEW BLOOMFIELD, PA 17068

717-582-4600 WEB PAGE: http://www.halmowery.com Original: 2224



Senate of Pennsylvania

July 22, 2002

COMMITTEES

PUBLIC HEALTH & WELFARE, CHAIRMAN BANKING & INSURANCE, VICE CHAIRMAN EDUCATION LAW & JUSTICE RULES & EXECUTIVE NOMINATIONS

CAPITOL PRESERVATION COMMITTEE
INTERGOVERNMENTAL COUNCIL ON
LONG TERM CARE
LEGISLATIVE DATA PROCESSING COMMITTEE
LEGISLATIVE SPORTSMEN'S CAUCUS
PENNSYLVANIA INFRASTRUCTUFE
INVESTMENT AUTHORITY
SENATE FIREFIGHTERS & EMERGENCY
SERVICES CAUCUS

Mr. John R. McGinley, Jr., Esq., Chairman Independent Regulatory Review Commission 333 Market Street, 14th Floor Harrisburg, PA 17101

Dear Mr. McGinley:

I am writing in support of the Department of Public Welfare's final form regulation, No. 14–472, that amends the rules and requirements for the Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) program, General Assistance (GA), and TANF-related and GA related Medicaid programs.

In my view, the regulation accurately reflects the intent of federal and state welfare reform legislation by emphasizing personal responsibility, work and self-sufficiency. It also provides opportunities, incentives and supports to those individuals who face substantial barriers to breaking the cycle of dependency and achieving financial independence. Finally, the regulation incorporates appropriate Departmental responses to the comments received following proposed rulemaking, and the regulation is now more reflective of the manner in which welfare reform has been implemented in the Commonwealth.

Again, I support regulation 14-472 and would urge the Independent Regulatory Review Commission to approve the regulation.

Sincerely.

Harold F. Mowery, Jr., Chairman

Senate Public Health & Welfare Committee

HFM/hsi

cc. Robert E. Nyce, Executive Director
Independent Regulatory Review Commission

Honorable Vincent J. Hughes, Minority Chairman Senate Public Health & Welfare Committee